Transformational Education

4 thoughts on “Transformational Education”

  1. First of all, I’m curious. What do you think is illogical about verses 27-30?

    Re: counter-cultural and culturally reformational. In my mind, “counter” means “against” (as in “to counter the argument”) while “reformational” means “to change” (s in “to call for bill reform”). Could it be that to be reformational almost by definition will mean to go counter to the culture? In order to change our culture we may have to go against it, butt heads with it, call a spade a spade, and dig our heels in while being pulled, kicking and screaming, in a certain direction. It may mean putting on the ice grips while others are putting on the waxed skis. Or, rather, it may mean jumping on the Harley and dodging all obstacles on my way to a goal, though I’m being told to walk there, dragging my heels in the dirt along the way. (I probably should have checked the dictionary about these words.)

    As to having a beer with the man at the bar, if his problem is “drinking his life away,” maybe he needs to change his drink to a healthier alternative….and I can show him the alternative by yes, sitting with him, but introducing him to the “root” option to the drink. I’m all for meeting people where they’re at (if it needs to be the bar, so be it, perhaps)…but I’m not for joining them in a possible cause for their despair.

    Thanks for starting this discussion, Charis. I like the information – formation – transformation idea. Yes, it’s not new, in a sense, but I like the way it’s put. It gives me another reminder that I need to go much farther in my teaching. I sometimes get to the formation (well, fairly often, I hope), but the transformation? I wonder…..

    By the way, I forwarded your blog entry to your last high school’s principal.

    Like

    1. Well just that it doesn’t seem right to cut off your hand or gouge out your eye…because if we did that each time we would kill ourselves.

      Mom Dianne, I like your thoughts 🙂 I agree about meeting people where they are. It seems to be a fine line between being in the world and being of the world. How much do you have to be of the world in order to show others that they don’t have to be of the world? Did that make sense?

      Like

      1. Uh-huh. Exactly. And especially since we’re told to be “in” the world, not “of” it, I think we’re skating on thin ice.

        Oh, and re: the hand and eye…roger, roger. Got it. You might be able to find a second hand store…but third and fourth hand? Likely not.

        Like

  2. I think we’re agreeing but just using different terms. I think of counter-cultural as being against what’s wrong with culture (or transforming it). I’m not sure I agree with the speaker in your class. (See Dianne’s comment for my view haha).

    Like

Leave a Reply

